Chastise: The Dambusters Story 1943

Chastise: The Dambusters Story 1943Operation Chastise, the destruction of the Mohne and Eder dams in north west Germany by the RAF s 617 Squadron on the night of 16 17 May 1943, was an epic that has passed into Britain s national legend Max Hastings grew up embracing the story, the classic 1955 movie and the memory of Guy Gibson, th

The Flight Girls

The Flight GirlsA stunning story about the Women Airforce Service Pilots whose courage during World War II turned ordinary women into extraordinary heroes 1941 Audrey Coltrane has always wanted to fly It s why she implored her father to teach her at the little airfield back home in Texas It s why she signed up t

Tailspin

Tailspin1 New York Times bestselling author Sandra Brown returns with a potent fusion of tantalizing suspense and romance, in a thriller about a reckless pilot caught in a race against time Rye Mallett, a fearless freight dog pilot charged with flying cargo to far flung locations, is often rough spoken,

The Spitfire Girls

The Spitfire GirlsThree skilled aviators determined to help win the war Three brave women who know their place is not at home At the height of World War II, the British Air Transport Auxiliary need help A group of young women volunteer for action, but the perils of their new job don t end on the tarmac Things are

Circling the Sun

Circling the SunBrought to Kenya from England as a child and then abandoned by her mother, Beryl Markham is raised by both her father and the native Kipsigis tribe who share his estate Her unconventional upbringing transforms Beryl into a bold young woman with a fierce love of all things wild and an inherent under

Daughters of the Night Sky

Daughters of the Night SkyA novel inspired by the most celebrated regiment in the Red Army about a woman s sacrifice, courage, and love in a time of war Russia, 1941 Katya Ivanova is a young pilot in a far flung military academy in the Ural Mountains From childhood, she s dreamed of taking to the skies to escape her bleak

The Man Who Knew The Way to the Moon

The Man Who Knew The Way to the MoonThe story of John C Houbolt, an unsung hero of Apollo 11 and the man who showed NASA how to put America on the moon Without John C Houbolt, a junior engineer at NASA, Apollo 11 would never have made it to the moon Top NASA engineers on the project, including Werner Von Braun, strongly advocated

The Wright Brothers

The Wright BrothersTwo time winner of the Pulitzer Prize David McCullough tells the dramatic story behind the story about the courageous brothers who taught the world how to fly Wilbur and Orville Wright.On a winter day in 1903, in the Outer Banks of North Carolina, two unknown brothers from Ohio changed history But

Raven One (Raven One, #1)

Raven One (Raven One, #1)Librarian Note Alternate Cover Edition for ISBN 10 1939398223 ISBN 13 9781939398222 UNARMED OVER HOSTILE TERRITORY For a moment Wilson froze and looked at the white helmeted pilot who sat high on the nose of the colossal fighter Across the small void, he saw the pilot s eyes peer over his

Glidepath (Max Fend, #1)

Glidepath (Max Fend, #1)The FBI wants him arrested The CIA wants him to disappear And the owner of a Russian mercenary group wants him dead But what is hiding in the CIA s top secret personnel file on Max Fend The one that even his FBI investigator isn t allowed to see A mysterious cyber attack on Fend Aerospace trigg

Dear Edward

Dear EdwardAfter losing everything, a young boy discovers there are still reasons for hope in this luminous, life affirming novel, perfect for fans of Celeste Ng and Ann Patchett In the face of tragedy, what does it take to find joy One summer morning, twelve year old Edward Adler, his beloved older brother

Flight or Fright: 17 Turbulent Tales

Flight or Fright: 17 Turbulent TalesFasten your seatbelts for an anthology of turbulent tales curated by Stephen King and Bev Vincent This exciting new anthology, perfect for airport or airplane reading, includes an original introduction and story notes for each story by Stephen King, along with brand new stories from Stephen King an